Three day expedition with dogsledge


This three-day expedition will give you a uniquely-Arctic experience: travelling through the endless white in total silence. We will pick you up at the hotel at 9:00 and take you by car to Green Dog in Bolterdalen. Here you'll be suited up in winterdress (full-size suit, winter boots, hat and mittens) and the guide will give you an introduction to dogsledding before we head off. Everybody will help to harness the dogs and tie them to the sledge. The guide will drive in front with a guest on his sledge and the rest of the group will follow, single file, with two people to each sledge. Before we head out the dogs will be very eager to go, but as soon as we've departed you can enjoy the great silence , while viewing the fantastic nature of Svalbard. After about 2 hours of mushing we will arrive at the ice cave. Here we will enjoy lunch at the snow igloo, and the dogs will have a well-earned break and a snack. After lunch we will explore the ice cave that goes far into the glacier. With helmets and headlamps we will descend into the cave. It is created during the summer, when meltwater runs through the glacier. During the winter this water freezes, creating fantastic channels and artistic ice crystals in the clear, still air inside the glacier. No matter what the temperature is outside, the cave is at a steady -2°C. After a tour within the glacier we will experience the exhilaration of downhill mushing through the moraine and out through Bolterdalen. We will continue towards Foxdalen where our cozy little cabin awaits. Once the fire takes off in the oven the temperature will rise quickly while we feed the dogs. If the northern lights or the beauty of the surroundings don’t keep us outside, then we will spend a cozy evening inside enjoying good food, a warm fire, and interesting mushing stories until it is time to creep into our sleeping bags. Sleeping bags, groundsheets and food are provided for you. The following morning we will harness the dogs again and set off towards Jansonhaugen and the exciting and diverse terrain that is found in that area. The wide, beautiful Advent Valley will narrow and we will see the mountains even closer as we follow the frozen riverbed into the land. If conditions are favorable, we will stop for lunch at the frozen waterfall north of Eskerdalen. The goal for the day is Spitsbergen Expedition Lodge, a new and well-equipped cabin beautifully located in Brentskaret. From the cabin we can enjoy the wild landscape– a snow-covered universe where hunters and trappers have lived and hunted throughout history. The lodge is cozy with four bedrooms, a simple bathroom, gas cooking facilities in the kitchen and a great fireplace. We will stay here for the night. The next day we'll sled west. We will plan the day according to weather and conditions, and try to make a detour into Eskerdalen. The dogs are happy being on the trail and we'll get to know each dog’s personality during the trip. Upon our return to Green Dog, our guide will drive us back to town and we'll be at our hotel between 15:00 and 18:00.

Number of travellers:

Date Price (1 Person) Hours Spaces Book now
Fri 11/01/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 14/01/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 18/01/2019 09:0012,90003Book now »
Mon 21/01/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 25/01/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 28/01/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 01/02/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 08/02/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 18/02/2019 09:0012,90002Book now »
Fri 22/02/2019 09:0012,90004Book now »
Mon 25/02/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 01/03/2019 09:0012,90003Book now »
Mon 04/03/2019 09:0012,90004Book now »
Fri 08/03/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 11/03/2019 09:0012,90004Book now »
Mon 18/03/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 25/03/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 29/03/2019 09:0012,90002Book now »
Fri 05/04/2019 09:0012,90003Book now »
Mon 08/04/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 12/04/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 15/04/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 19/04/2019 09:0012,90004Book now »
Fri 26/04/2019 09:0012,90003Book now »
Mon 29/04/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 10/05/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 13/05/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Fri 17/05/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »
Mon 20/05/2019 09:0012,90005Book now »